The Hebrew canon of the first century was composed of twenty-four books. (The Hebrew canon is what Christians refer to as the Old Testament.) The canon was divided into the Law, the Prophets, and the Writings. The Law was composed of the five books of the Pentateuch. The Prophets were divided into the Former Prophets and the Latter Prophets. The Latter prophets were further divided into the Major Prophets and the Minor Prophets. Lastly, the Writings were divided into the Poetical books, the Rolls, and the Historical books.